Bestway / Lay-z-spa Split hose for jets

I turned on the jets on my hot tub last week, all seemed fine for a few minutes, but then the unit stopped and displayed an E04 error (temp to high).

That seemed kind of unlikely since the heater was off, just the jets and air switched on, so I turned off the mains, give it a min, and turned it back on, where it displayed E01 (flow sensor) issue.

I tried the suggested actions for this, sharp bang on the side of the case, disconnect and reverse flow water through the system, but that made no difference.

So, I decided to take a look inside, thinking that I’d check the flow sensor directly, to make sure that it was working OK.

What I found was that the inside of the case was soaking wet, including the electrical components!

There was no obvious sigh of where the water had come from, so I dried the unit out overnight, and reconnected the power the next day. At this point the unit started normally, so I figured that the E04 and E01 were actually caused by the connections for the temp and flow sensors getting wet, rather than those failing.

However, I still didn’t know where the water had come from, so I connected the pump back up to the tub, left the top of the case off, and checked but found no leaks. I then turned on the heater / air / jets in that order.

As soon as the jets came on a huge jet of water came out from the flexible hose between the jets pump and the actual outlet. A closer inspection after the jets were turned back off showed that there was a small split in the hose, but that it was only leaking when under the pressure generated by the pump.

2020-05-10 11.36.38

The hose circled in red is the culprit.

To remove the hose I had to remove the 4 screws that hold the outlet pipe in position.

2020-05-10 11.39.27

Once those screws are removed you can move the outlet far enough to pull the old pipe off.

2020-05-10 11.40.16

I measured the end of the plastic that the hose fits over, and got it as about 49mm, and it has a 45 degree bend in the middle. I took a look on ebay and find this item. 48mm 1 7/8″ 45 ELBOW RED SILICONE HOSE COOLANT VENAIR (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/48mm-1-7-8-45-ELBOW-RED-SILICONE-HOSE-COOLANT-VENAIR/260458334809?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649)

This took a few days to turn up (not back considering were are still in the middle of the Covid lockdown. This is the new hose next to the old one it is going to replace.

2020-05-10 11.43.55

Obviously way too long, so I trimmed it down to size with a sharp knive.

2020-05-10 11.47.12

Although it looks from the photo that I have cut the new pipe a lot longer then the old one it actually turned out to be about 1mm shorter than was ideal.

After some fiddling and choice words the new hose was in position replacing the old one.

2020-05-10 11.54.09

After making sure that the hose clips were seated properly, and the 4 screws holding the outlet tube were back in place, I connected the pump back up to the tub ready to test.

And, success, the new pipe doesn’t leak a drop.

I don’t know how long the new hose will last, but it’s a reasonable heavy duty feeling hose, so time will tell.

At £20 for the hose to save a £500 pump / heater unit, it’s a no brainer.

Toolkit for the above job was very simple, a couple of phillips screwdrivers, a flat head for the jubilee clips, and a knive to cut the hose to size.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bestway / Lay-z-spa Split hose for jets

  1. Steve Johnson says:

    Sorry Greg I posted this on the wrong topic but couldn’t delete the last one.

    Hi Greg,

    I have managed to get a split in the Concertina flexi outlet pipe, I have tried gluing it with epoxy and seems solid but after finding this thread I now want to order some silicon hose just in case the repair fails, I have not measured the pipe and don’t really want to undo the jubilee clip now the glue is set do you happen to know if the outlet pipe on the outside is 49mm as Well as inside, if it is I will just order some straight hose and keep it to one side. I have the Maldives but the pump looks to be the same type.

    Thank you for your help,

    Kindest Regards
    Steve J

  2. maggy says:

    I have the same model I think it is the salt water one i think it has a reset button problem as it does not click in and the machine starts stops and turn s bubbles and jets on and off all on its own it is quite ghostly any ideas

    • Hi Maggy,
      Ours is the salt water one as well, although I mostly just use chlorine rather than salt.
      I’ve not seen anything like that with ours, I would suspect that the problem would be in the control panel itself – Might be worth taking the cover off, making sure that it’s looking dry and ok in there, and making sure that the connector between the control panel and the rest of the system is in tight.
      Good luck!
      Cheers
      Greg.

  3. Nathalie Franck says:

    Hello. I need to replace the same hose. Am I right you mentioned an inner diameter of 48 mm as my broken one is still on place.

  4. Nathalie Franck says:

    Thanks for you help. Bestway is not really very helpful.

  5. Nathalie Franck says:

    Thank for your explanation, I also managed to get a spare part designed for the automobile industry and to use it to replace my defaulting hose. I finally bought a inner diameter of 54 which fitted. Nathalie from France

  6. Andy says:

    Similar experiences and resolution.

    Shame Bestway don’t really have a good after sales/spares market. Mine has been going strong for nearly 3 years, in all weather’s.

    I’m about to replace the other pipe leading out of the A pipe connected too this one, that has simply perished over time.

    Similarly, will use general coolant hose from ebay, 63mm internal diameter, a little over 92mm long.

Leave a comment